The last 3 weeks have been an absolute non-stop whirlwind of activity. I have been working day and night to prepare for all my classes before I leave for the U.S. In addition, I’ve had my regular schedule, plus ministry involvements, as well as having to make 8 original tests. I’ve been working on my day off. I’ve been bringing work home. I knew something had to break sooner or later; I just didn’t know that it would be my brain. Well, I have now officially reached the last stage in what the experts call “ultimate spaced-outness.” Today I missed the train to my English class at Gakuenmae Chapel. No, I don’t mean I was late and missed it. That wouldn’t be nearly as bad. As it happened, I was at the station, standing on the platform waiting for the train. I don’t remember this next part, so I can’t be entirely sure, but it seems as though the train I needed arrived, stopped, passengers got off and on, and left again without me on it. That’s right, folks. I was standing there watching for it and neglected to actually get on it. Granted, I was reading a book at the time, but that doesn’t mean anything. I frequently read while I’m waiting and I’ve never missed the train before. This time, I never even noticed. And before you go offering your kind excuses on my behalf, I must inform you that I catch the exact same trains every week. I have that schedule memorized. I arrived at Fuse station the same time as always – right around 12:45. I was waiting to catch the 12:52 express to Nara. When I looked down at my iPod because it seemed I had been waiting an awfully long time, it said 12:57. There is no excuse. I’m just an idiot.

This incident is the latest in a series of increasingly stupid mistakes. Take last Wednesday for example. It was test day for my students. At my 3rd (and last) class, I completely forgot to give them the reading portion of their test. It never even occurred to me. Not until I was grading their tests afterward and saw the glaring omission in the reading score box.

And I’m the one teaching the next generation how to communicate.

