In the last several months, I have been enjoying a bit of baking.  I’ve made various cakes, muffins, cookies, etc to share with my classes, the office staff, and many others.  I’ve also had a great time over the past year making dinners periodically for certain friends who happen to be rather helpless in the kitchen (sorry to any of you lot if you’re reading this, but you know it’s true:)).  But now I’ve been given an assignment, and I’m going to have to step it up.  I was asked today to organize a team and cook breakfast for a visiting speaker and his wife later this month.  !!!!!!!!    It’s one thing to cook for fun.  If you give it to someone and they don’t like it, well, whatever.  You probably will never hear about it because it was an unexpected gift.  Honestly, they can throw the whole thing out and you’ll never be the wiser.  But now there’s EXPECTATION.  Not just of my food, but of my performance in completing said task.  Yikes!  I’ll have to deliver the goods (which I hope don’t have to be Japanese-style, because that’s SO not what they’re getting) on Sunday 2/21.  If you think of it, please say a little prayer for me.  And of course, encouraging comments never hurt anyone 🙂

