Sometimes my naivety is astounding.

I just spent some time back home for the first time in 15 months (!), and the Big Question was: Are you going to stay in Japan longer?  And I have to admit, that was the Big Question that I had hoped would be answered during this trip.  I somehow got it in my head that if I felt out-of-place, then that meant that I was supposed to stay in Japan longer than my contracted 2 years.  And truly, I think that was my desire.  So I neglected to plan for the opposite response – feeling ike I never left in the first place.  Guess which one it ended up being?

I seriously don’t know why I bother.  Every time I think I have it all figured out, God throws in some kind of monkey wrench and completely messes up my plan.  I suppose it’s His way of reminding me who’s in control here.

So the answer to the Big Question is…I don’t know.  Honestly, I have no idea.  My friend Sarah asked me if I was only saying “I don’t know” so I wouldn’t have to go into any deep conversations, or if I truly don’t know.  A valid question.  But even to my closest of confidantes, I have to say I have no idea at this point what I will do next March.  But I promise I’ll keep you posted as God reveals His plan to me.


