I know we’re a month in already, but since 2009 has begun, I have been thinking about what I have learned in the past year:

– I’ve learned that just because you’re following God doesn’t mean the path will be easy.  But following God is still easier than going your own way.

– I’ve learned that trusting God is more than just saying the words.  It sometimes means jumping off a cliff when you can’t see the net below.

– I’ve learned that making the most of every opportunity (Col. 4:5) is lot more difficult than it sounds.  It’s a constant battle to be aware of the opportunities that present themselves every day.  It’s true that hindsight is 20/20.

– I’ve learned that the “need to vent” is not a need at all but a desire.  Not being able to “vent” to anyone for almost a year has shown me this.  God is the one that we need to turn to with our difficulties.  Venting resembles gossip a bit too much.

– I’ve learned that just because your role in one situation differs from your role in another situation, it doesn’t mean God is not using you,  nor that your value has changed.

I know that those all are very general descriptions that you could probably read in any Christian book of platitudes.  But I think that sometimes we read these things and say, “oh, yes, that’s so true,” but we don’t really know it.  I guarantee you I have specific stories for learning each of these.  Some of these conclusions were the result of a pretty difficult struggle.  Some were more of a slow dawning in my mind.  But all these things have taught me that maybe the most important lesson of all is that we never know as much as we think we know.  There is no end to what we can learn about God and about human nature.  And the more I learn, the more He completely blows my mind with His amazing grace, His awesome power and His unimaginable mercy.

