Today is (or was) Election Day in the U.S. And it was a very important election in our history, considering the candidates. Unfortunately, I could not be there for it. But I could, and did, pray.

The results aren’t final yet, but it looks like Obama will be our next president. I know that there are a lot of people back home who will be very upset about this. But as I was thinking about it, I realized that it really doesn’t matter in the long run who is in office. I mean, I’m not saying don’t bother to vote; you DEFINITELY need to vote. But whether it’s McCain or Obama in the White House, don’t we know who is truly in control? Contrary to popular belief, God is NOT a Republican. But He’s not a Democrat, either. He is simply God. He knows who will win this time and next time and for all the elections to come. He knows because He wills it.

There is no guarantee that the world (or at least the U.S.) will be a better place with McCain in the White House. Who is to say that Obama will do a worse job than any other president we’ve had? The important thing to remember is that whoever ends up winning will be the winner only because our great and Holy God has allowed it. Romans 13:1 says, “Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God.”

So last night, I prayed for God’s will to be done. I prayed for the election to glorify God in some way, for there to be opportunities to share our faith with others. I prayed for a result that will somehow glorify God, and for a president that will lead our country in a way that will honor Him. I can’t say whether it is McCain or Obama that is better equipped to do that. And I can’t see how a non-believing president can honor God in the way that he leads a country. But I serve a big God. Nothing is beyond His power. Praise His sovereign name!

