Last night, a group of us went out to dinner with one of the church members (Daichi’s mom, for those of you who know him). Kyoko drove me, Johanna and our friend Cassie. And I realized as we were driving that it takes a tremendous amount of trust to be here. Or stupidity. Whichever. We never know where we’re going, or what we’re eating. We have to rely on someone, like Kyoko, to take us there and order the food. Sometimes we get lucky and there’s at least a picture on the menu and we can order it ourselves.

On Sundays, I’ve been visiting other churches. Someone else arranged my schedule and transportation. I just get these emails telling me where to be and when so a car can pick me up. The car shows up and someone I’ve never met before gets out and says, “Hi, I’m here to drive you.” And I just get in the car. I can’t even tell if they’re driving in the right direction. This has got to be a parent’s worst nightmare. I don’t think my parents read this blog, so I think I’m pretty safe in revealing all this.

None of this has really been a problem for me. Nobody has driven up looking really shady, and I haven’t gotten sick from any of the food. But it is kinda funny. Johanna and Cassie and I decided that we should just wear blindfolds from now on. “Get in the car.” “OK.” Here, eat this.” “OK.” It makes me very thankful that the family of God reaches so far. Someone asked me yesterday if living in Japan is difficult. I had to say that it hasn’t been solely because of Grace Mission. Everyone watches out for me and makes sure I have everything I need. I am so thankful for God’s provision.

