I’ve been visiting the different Grace Mission churches here in Japan. Every Sunday, I go to a different service. It usually winds up being a very long day, but it’s been interesting to see the different types of worship services and to see how God is working in each congregation. Each one is so different! Last Sunday, I went to Kyuho Chapel, Pastor Ryo’s church for those of you who know him. The service was of course in Japanese, but there were 2 songs that we sing in America, so I sang them in English. It’s a special treat for me to be able to sing praise to the Lord in English, though I know He understands even when I sing in my poorly pronounced Japanese. There was a young man (the older brother of one of my students, I found out) who translated a little for me, so I could at least follow along with the message. All in all, it was a pretty good morning. Little did I know there was so much more to come.

Kyuho Chapel is also home to the Igreja Batista Agape every Sunday evening. And if you guessed that’s not Japanese, you’re right; it’s Portuguese. Apparently, there’s a rather large Portuguese community in the neighborhood, and they use Kyuho’s building for their worship services. Since I was already there, Pastor Ryo asked me to stay for the Portuguese service at 5 PM. And I’m so glad I did, because it turns out that many of the Portuguese people also spoke Spanish. For those of you who don’t know and are really confused by now, I studied Portuguese for a semester in college, and my minor was Spanish. So I was a happy girl. Although I was nervous at first, I was surprised at how much Spanish I actually remember. It became easier to converse the more I did it. I won’t say it was just like speaking in English, but it was sure better than playing charades like I usually do here 🙂

It was so strange to think that my morning had started out in Japanese translated to English, and the day ended with Portuguese translated to Spanish (one of the members translated everything into Spanish for me to make it a little easier). I was pretty tired and having trouble remembering simple things like my name by the end of the day. Pastor Ryo said that he got a good taste of what I go through every week, with having little or no translation (he doesn’t know Spanish or Portuguese). So it was a day of new experiences for him as well. I’m glad I got to go, and hope I can attend their church again while I’m here.

