Before I got here, I was planning on going to the DMV to get a foreign license (or whatever paperwork it is you need to drive somewhere other than the U.S). I figured I could learn how to drive here just in case I decided to stay longer, or for when people visit or whatever. As it turned out, I ran out of time to go to the DMV. But it’s turned out to be a good thing. The streets are so narrow here! Granted, the cars are smaller also, but my goodness! Not only do you have to worry about staying on the left side of the road, but you have to do it down these narrow alleyways. Many times I have to ride with Oka-san, and I’m telling you, she’s crazy. Speeding doesn’t bother me, but she goes the wrong way down streets, she honks her horn for people to get out of the way, she makes these incredibly tight turns and then has to back up. It’s scary. But at least she’s careful with all the people on bicycles. Which is really good, because that’s how I’ll probably be doing most of my traveling.

