It’s been a while, so here’s the latest: I heard from Keiko in Japan, and they have found and will purchase a ticket for around $700 (yeah!) for me to leave on Tuesday, January 8, 2008. Time is flying! Also, I will be staying with the Iwahasi family for about a month to sort of get used to Japanese culture. Then, I will move to an apartment (a very small apartment, I’m told) with a Japanese roommate, Ryoko. She works for Food For the Hungry and speaks some English. The apartment will also be in the same building as Johanna, who was part of the GM Partner trip last August and with whom I have been in contact frequently. She has been SUCH an encouragement, as well a great resource since she is American also.

Recently, I received an email from Johanna about the things that she is praying through right now. She said that she’s scared that God will tell her it’s time to go home, and she’s also scared that God will tell her to stay longer. But she is more scared about going home. It may sound weird, but that is the one part of all of this that most concerns me. When I go to Japan, they have a project for me, a home for me, provisions for me. When (or IF, as Betty says) I return to the U.S., I will be homeless, jobless and without vehicle or income. True, I know SOMEONE will take me in temporarily, but it’s still kind of scary. How strange is it that I feel better about going into the unknown than returning to the known? Maybe it’s easier for me to trust God when I have no reference, when I am completely out of my comfort zone and it’s impossible for me to rely on myself. I suppose it’s possible that when I’m in a place with which I’m familiar, I feel like I should rely on myself more. I guess I need to trust God at home more. It’s rather humbling to think that you’ve been doing something well and then find out that you really haven’t been doing it well at all. I am, after all, a work in progress.

